Our Schools - Alternate Programs - Royal City Alternate Program

Royal City Alternate Program

New Westminster Schools offers the ROYAL CITY ALTERNATE PROGRAM (RCAP) to students 13 to 16 years of age. This academic program offers coursework up to Grade 10 completion and provides a transition to regular or alternate high school programs with social and emotional support in and outside of the classroom.

A Sense of Community

A sense of community is important at RCAP and is fostered through hot lunches, celebrations, field trips, fun activities, and our P.E., yoga, hockey and dog-walking programs.

Caring, qualified teachers deliver B.C. Ministry of Education curriculum, with supports when necessary.

Classes start at 9:30 a.m., Monday to Friday, and have a maximum of 15 students.  Math classes are even smaller.  Grading and assessment are individualized and our students progress at their own pace within a full classroom experience. At RCAP we have:

  • Youth Care Worker on site
  • Enhanced on-site counselling

A unique agreement system helps students who are trying to improve their attendance, punctuality, or productivity.  Half-hour progress meetings are scheduled 3 times per year with students and their parents/guardians, and by request.

RCAP provides a positive learning experience for those facing social and emotional challenges in school.

School Learning Plan - At RCAP, our School Learning Plan for 2019-2020 outlines our goals,
our strategies for reaching them, and the evidence for success.

Royal City Alternate Program is located at:
#200-2065 Columbia Street,
New Westminster, BC
V3M 6H7
Phone: 604-517-6141

To report late arrivals and absences, please contact at: 604-517-6134

RCAP Staff Contact Information:

District Principal Pam Craven pcraven@sd40.bc.ca
Department Head, Teacher Caitlyn James cjames@sd40.bc.ca
Counsellor, Teacher Kelly Ranford kranford@sd40.bc.ca778-879-3134
Teacher Kai Smith kaismith@sd40.bc.ca
Youth Care Worker Nancy Bacon nbacon@sd40.bc.ca604-517-6134
Secretary Judy Lizna jlizna@sd40.bc.ca604-517-6141

Highlights at New Westminster School District 40

A tale of three (award winning) teachers

A tale of three (award winning) teachers

Celebrating the achievements, as recognized by three outside organizations, of some of the amazing teachers who work in New Westminster: Carmen Woo, Kristie Oxley and Barb Paul. more

Good things are happening 2019-2020

Good things are happening 2019-2020

It was a year full of successes, challenges and adaptation ... and the amazing things that were achieved last year have laid the foundation for this big year we're walking together in now. more

The FAQ’s on schools, COVID protocols and more

The FAQ’s on schools, COVID protocols and more

You have questions. Here are the answers. (And if you can't find it here, send us an email and we'll add to this page through the year.) more

Translate »